

USDA Designates 62 Louisiana Counties as a Primary Natural Disaster Area News Release | Texas | April 02, 2024

View PDF

Six Texas Counties Also Eligible for Assistance

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Louisiana

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: November 25, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible:

| Acadia | Allen | Ascension | Assumption |
|-----------|------------|------------------|--------------|
| Avoyelles | Beauregard | Bienville | Calcasieu |
| Caldwell | Cameron | Catahoula | Claiborne |
| Concordia | De Soto | East Baton Rouge | East Carroll |

| East Feliciana | Evangeline | Franklin | Grant |
|-----------------|----------------------|------------------|--------------|
| Iberia | Iberville | Jackson | Jefferson |
| Jefferson Davis | Lafayette | Lafourche | LaSalle |
| Lincoln | Livingston | Madison | Morehouse |
| Natchitoches | Orleans | Ouachita | Plaquemines |
| Pointe Coupee | Rapides | Red River | Richland |
| Sabine | St. Bernard | St. Charles | St. Helena |
| St. James | St. John the Baptist | St. Landry | St. Martin |
| St. Mary | St. Tammany | Tangipahoa | Tensas |
| Terrebonne | Union | Vermillion | Vernon |
| Washington | Webster | West Baton Rouge | West Carroll |
| West Feliciana | Winn | | |

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Bossier and Caddo

Arkansas: Ashley, Chicot, Columbia, Lafayette, and Union

Mississippi: Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Hancock, Issaquena, Jefferson, Lamar, Marion, Pearl River, Pike, Sharkey, Walthall, Warren, Washington, and Wilkinson

Texas: Jefferson, Newton, Orange, Panola, Sabine, and Shelby

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov