

## Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## USDA Designates Two Wyoming Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Eight Contiguous Counties, Including Two Montana Counties, Also Eligible for Assistance

News Release | Montana | April 25, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Wyoming

Triggering Disaster: Drought

**Application Deadline**: 12/23/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Big Horn and Washakie

**Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:** 

Montana: Big Horn and Carbon

Wyoming: Fremont, Hot Springs, Johnson, Natrona, Park and Sheridan

**More Resources** 

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

#

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov