

## USDA Designates Carter County Montana as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Excessive Rain, Flash Flooding, Hail, High Winds and Lightning; Six Contiguous Counties Also Eligible for Assistance

News Release | Montana | August 09, 2024

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster: Excessive Rain, Flash Flooding, Hail, High Winds and Lightning

Application Deadline: 4/7/2025

Primary Counties Eligible: Carter

### Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Montana: Custer, Fallon and Powder River South Dakota: Butte and Harding Wyoming: Crook

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov