

## USDA Designates Five Connecticut Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

Emergency Designation | December 07, 2020

View PDF

Contact: FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov

Emergency Support to Producers in Surrounding Counties/Border States Also Available

**WASHINGTON, Dec. 7, 2020** — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated five Connecticut counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Hartford, Middlesex, New Haven, New London and Windham counties who suffered losses caused by Tropical Storm Isaias and high winds that occurred Aug. 4 through Aug. 5, 2020, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) <u>emergency loans</u>.

This natural disaster designation allows FSA to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts.

Producers in the contiguous counties listed below are also eligible to apply for emergency loans:

- Connecticut: Fairfield, Litchfield and Tolland
- Massachusetts: Hampden and Worcester
- Rhode Island: Kent, Providence and Washington

The deadline to apply for these emergency loans is Aug. 2, 2021.

New York: Suffolk

The deadline to apply for emergency loans in Suffolk County is Aug. 18, 2021.\*

FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

FSA has a variety of additional programs to help farmers recover from the impacts of this disaster. FSA programs that do not require a disaster declaration include: <u>Emergency Assistance for Livestock</u>, <u>Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program</u>; <u>Emergency Conservation Program</u>; <u>Livestock Forage</u> <u>Disaster Program</u>; <u>Livestock Indemnity Program</u>; <u>Operating and Farm Ownership Loans</u>; and the <u>Tree</u> <u>Assistance Program</u>.

Farmers may contact their local USDA service center for further information on eligibility requirements and application procedures for these and other programs. Additional information is also available online at <u>farmers.gov/recover</u>.

\*Correction: Suffolk County, New York, has been added to the list of contiguous counties. The deadline for producers to apply for emergency loans in Suffolk County, New York, is Aug. 18, 2021.

Farm Service Agency: 1400 Independence Ave.

SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov