

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates 14 Washington Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas (Oregon Contiguous Counties)

News Release | Oregon | July 06, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor (see http://droughtmonitor.unl.edu/), these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Washington

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Feb. 22, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Adams	Garfield	Lincoln
Asotin	Grant	Spokane
Columbia	Kittitas	Stevens
Franklin	Klickitat	

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Washington:

Benton	Douglas	King	Okanogar
Chelan	Ferry	Lewis	Pend Ore

Idaho: Benewah, Bonner, Kootenai, Latah and Nez Perce

Oregon: Gilliam, Hood River, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Wallowa and Wasco

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov