

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Six Montana Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Montana | July 29, 2021

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Montana

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: March 28, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Big Horn	Lewis and Clark	Mineral
Flathead	Lincoln	Sanders

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Montana:

Broadwater Jefferson Pondera Teton

Carbon	Lake	Powder River	Treasure
Cascade	Meagher	Powell	Yellowston
Glacier	Missoula	Rosebud	

Idaho: Bonner, Boundary, Clearwater and Shoshone

Wyoming: Big Horn and Sheridan

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

#

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave.SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov