

USDA Designates 12 North Carolina Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | South Carolina | October 27, 2021

View PDF

COLUMBIA, S.C., Oct. 27, 2021-- This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: North Carolina

Triggering Disaster: Excessive rain and flooding from Tropical Storm Fred that occurred from Aug. 15 through Aug. 17, 2021

Application Deadline: June 20, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Buncombe	Henderson	Madison
Cherokee	Jackson	Mitchell
Clay	McDowell	Transylvania

Haywood	Macon	Yancey

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

North Carolina:

Avery	Graham	Rutherford
Burke	Polk	Swain

Georgia: Fannin, Rabun, Towns and Union

South Carolina: Greenville, Oconee and Pickens

Tennessee: Carter, Cocke, Greene, Monroe, Polk, Sevier and Unicoi

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov