

USDA Designates Nine Washington Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Oregon | April 29, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Washington

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 22, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Adams	Franklin	Klickitat
Asotin	Grant	Walla Walla
Benton	Kittitas	Yakima

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Washington:

Chelan

Garfield

Skamania

Columbia

King

Okanogan

Whitman

Douglas Lewis Pierce

_.

Lincoln

Idaho: Nez Perce

Oregon: Gilliam, Hood River, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Wallowa and Wasco

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov