

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates Twenty Arkansas Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Oklahoma | August 26, 2022

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Arkansas

Triggering Disaster: Drought

_

Application Deadline: April 3, 2023

Primary Counties Eligible:

Benton	Conway	Lawrence	Pope
Boone	Faulkner	Madison	Searcy
Carroll	Independence	Marion	Stone

Clay Izard Newton Van Buren

Cleburne Johnson Polk Washington

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Arkansas:

Baxter Greene Montgomery Scott

Craighead Howard Perry Sevier

Crawford Jackson Pike Sharp

Franklin Logan Pulaski White

Fulton Lonoke Randolph Yell

Missouri: Barry, Butler, Dunklin, McDonald, Ozark, Ripley, Stone and Taney

Oklahoma: Adair, Delaware, Le Flore and McCurtain

More Resources On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Farm Loan Discovery Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service</u> Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov