

# Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

## **USDA Designates Six Maine Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas**

News Release | Maine | July 10, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <a href="mailto:emergency loans">emergency loans</a>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Maine

**Triggering Disaster:** Frost that occurred May 17 and 18, 2023.

Application Deadline: 03/05/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Androscoggin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Sagadahoc, Washington

### **Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:**

Maine: Aroostook, Cumberland, Franklin, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Piscataquis, Somerset, Waldo,

York

New Hampshire: Carroll, Coos

#### **More Resources**

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

## Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

## **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov