

USDA Designates 4 South Carolina Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas Due to Freeze and Frost in March

News Release | South Carolina | August 16, 2023

View PDF

11 Contiguous Counties in South Carolina Also Eligible for Assistance

These Secretarial natural disaster designations allow the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: South Carolina

Triggering Disaster 1: Frost and Freeze

Application Deadline: 3/21/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Chester, Edgefield and Saluda

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

South Carolina: Aiken, Fairfield, Greenwood, Lancaster, Lexington, McCormick, Newberry, Union and York

Georgia: Columbia and Richmond

Triggering Disaster 2: Freeze

Application Deadline: 3/21/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: York

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

South Carolina: Cherokee, Chester, Lancaster and Union

North Carolina: Cleveland, Gaston and Mecklenburg

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency: 1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact: FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov