

Farm Service Agency U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

USDA Designates La Crosse and Vernon Counties in Wisconsin as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas Due to Drought in Minnesota

News Release | Wisconsin | August 24, 2023

View PDF

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Drought (Fast Track)

Application Deadline: 4/22/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Houston

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible: Fillmore, Winona

Contiguous Counties in Iowa: Allamakee, Winneshiek

Contiguous Counties in Wisconsin: La Crosse, Vernon

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk

FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov