

# USDA Designates Houston County as Primary Natural Disaster Area Due to Drought

News Release | Minnesota | August 24, 2023

View PDF

## Additional Contiguous Counties Eligible in Iowa, Minnesota, and Wisconsin

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the <u>U.S. Drought Monitor</u>, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster: Drought- (Fast Track) S5498

Application Deadline: April 22, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Houston

### Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Fillmore, Winona

lowa: Allamakee, Winneshiek

Wisconsin: La Crosse, Vernon

#### More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet,

and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

# Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

# **Contact:**

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov