

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 4 Additional Georgia Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

News Release | Georgia | November 21, 2023

View PDF

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through <u>emergency loans</u>. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Impacted Area: Georgia, South Carolina

Triggering Disaster: Hurricane Idalia

Incident Period: August 30, 2023

Application Deadline: June 3, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Georgia: Burke, Montgomery, Toombs, Treutlen

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Georgia: Appling, Candler, Emanuel, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Laurens, Richmond, Screven, Tattnall, Wheeler

South Carolina: Aiken, Allendale, Barnwell

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the <u>Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool</u>, <u>Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet</u>, and <u>Loan Assistance Tool</u> can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local <u>USDA Service Center</u>.

Farm Service Agency:

1400 Independence Ave. SW Washington, DC 20250

Contact:

FPAC Press Desk FPAC.BC.Press@usda.gov